The Association of Mining and Exploration Companies (AMEC) partnered with the Australian Prospectors and Miners’ Hall of Fame last week to present the 2015 AMEC Awards and Mining Hall of Fame Induction Dinner. The dinner was held on Wednesday June 24 at the Crown Perth following the annual AMEC Convention.

The AMEC Prospector Award for individual endeavour in the field of mineral exploration was first presented by AMEC in 1993. It is given to the individual/s who made the most outstanding mineral deposit discovery within recent years. This year the AMEC Prospector Award was won by Ziggy Lubieniecki, Kyle Prentice and Justin Osborne for the Gruyere Gold Project.

Gruyere is 97 million tonnes @ 1.23 grams/tonne gold for 3.84 million ounces and is likely to grow with current drilling. The discovery, from start to finish, was made in just 12 months at a very low cost. High quality geological modelling and extensional targeting enabled the low-cost discovery.

The AMEC Environment Award reflects the increasing importance of managing environmental impacts of mineral mining and exploration projects. It is made to a company that goes above and beyond in their management of environmental impacts or is developing innovative methods to achieve better long term environmental outcomes.

The 2015 AMEC Environment Award was made to Mineral Resources Limited (MRL) for ‘Biodiversity modelling for environmental assessment of resource development in the Banded Ironstone Formations of south-western Australia’, by Giovanni Di Virgilio, Research Fellow, Curtin University.

MRL’s research project in collaboration with Curtin University is innovative as it links information on threatened and priority taxa, quadrat-based surveys and vegetation mapping to target restoration and post-mine management in a cost-effective and efficient way. It contributes to biodiversity understanding in Western Australia beyond the immediate mining area and enables the derivation of sound restoration programs relevant to the local environment.

Now in its 26th year, the AMEC Media Awards recognize excellence in journalism covering the Australian mineral exploration and mining industry.

The 2015 AMEC Print Media Award was made to Kalgoorlie Miner chief of staff and resources reporter Jasmine Bamford for her extensive and detailed coverage of rates gouging on exploration licences, from when it was first raised through to the resolution.

The 2015 AMEC Online/Digital Media Award was made to SNL Metals & Mining senior reporter Angela Kean for the story ‘Iron Ore price crash wipes off A$124.34B in share price value from Australian miners’.

A special mention was also made to Australian Broadcasting Corporation business reporter Susan Lannin for the story ‘Coal communities trying to survive the mining slowdown’.

There were two inductees into the Australian Prospectors & Miners’ Hall of Fame. Cecil (Frank) Hughes was inducted into the category of Heroes and John Agnew into the category of Directors and Management.

The AMEC Convention is organized by the Association of Mining and Exploration Companies (AMEC), Australia’s leading industry body for the mining and exploration industry. The Australian Prospectors & Miners’ Hall of Fame was founded in 1995 as a memorial to the men and women who have made a significant contribution to the mining industry, its communities and environment in Australia.

Resource Center Whitepapers, Videos, Case Studies

Conferences & Events

No events